Paying for College

FINANCIAL AID NIGHT PRESENTATION
      
     CLICK HERE to see the PowerPoint presentation, presented on Oct 11th, 2017 by:
            Debbie Wysomierski, Financial Aid Program Coordinator at Skagit Valley College 
 
    FINANCIAL AID NIGHT HANDOUTS:
 
Paying for College Brochure
Excellent source of information about gift grants and students loans, how to apply, specific details about kinds of loans, etc.
 
 
FAFSA INFORMATION:

College Preparation Checklist (www.FederalStudentAid.ed.gov/collprep) - Geared toward students who are considering college. Explains how to prepare academically and financially for college through "to do" lists aimed at elementary and secondary school students and their parents, as well as adult students. Simply worded information about federal aid, what to do at FAFSA filing time, and looking for scholarships.

 
FAFSA4caster - For those families with students in grades 11 and under, the FAFSA4caster is an online tool to help students and families prepare financially for college before officially applying for federal student aid.  Receive early estimates and establish college savings strategies.  Access for FAFSA4caster:  www.federalstudentaid.ed.gov/

 

FAFSA Filing Options - Students are encouraged to apply for federal student aid using FAFSA on the Web. The online application is going to be significantly simpler in 2010-11, so students are strongly urged to fill out the application at www.fafsa.ed.gov. The PDF version of the FAFSA form is still available for students who are unable to complete FAFSA on the Web. To print out a paper copy students can visit www.FederalStudentAid.ed.gov, click on "FAFSA Filing Options," and submit it by postal mail. Students without access to the Internet may ask the financial aid office at their chosen college whether the school can submit the FAFSA on their behalf; or they may request a paper FAFSA from 1-800-4-FED-AID (1-800-433-3243).

 

College.gov - For students who are unsure whether college is for them, they can visit www.college.gov. This simply worded, engaging Web site provides information about applying to, attending, and graduating from college. It features first-person accounts of students who overcame challenges such as peer pressure, lack of family support, and financial barriers.

Here are some other helpful websites:
Bank of America: www.bankofamerica.com/studentbanking
College Answer: www.collegeanswer.com
College Board: www.collegeboard.com
College Net: www.collegenet.com
College Net Scholarship Info: ($1000 awarded quarterly) www.anycollege.net/scholarship.dfm
College Plan: (Pacific NW region) www.collegeplan.org/cpnow/pnwguide/pnwguide.htm
College-Scholarships: www.college-scholarships.com
College/Career Exploration & Scholarships: www.imagine-america.org
Fast Aid: www.fastaid.com
Fast Web: www.fastweb.com
Financial Aid: www.finaid.org
Free Scholarship Search: www.freschinfo.com
Mapping Your Future: www.mapping-your-future.org
Princeton Review: www.princetonreview.com
Sallie Mae: www.salliemae.com
Savingforcollege:  www.savingforcollege.com
Scholarships.com:  www.scholarships.com
Student Aid: studentaid.ed.gov
US Bank: www.usbank/studentloans.com
Wired Scholar: www.wiredscholar.com
WOIS: www.wois.org

Guaranteed Education Tuition:  
www.get.wa.gov  Save for future while securing current tuition rates.


Western Undergraduate Exchange: 
This program is for students desiring to enroll in out of state colleges at a reduced tuition level. 
For more information visit:  www.wiche.edu/sep/wue

College Links:
www.anycollege.com/
www.wois.org

Washington State Board for Community & Technical Colleges
www.sbctc.ctc.edu/

Independent Colleges of Washington
www.icwashington.org/
Member colleges:
Gonzaga University   www.gonzaga.edu/
Heritage University   www.heritage.edu/Main.php
Pacific Lutheran University   www.plu.edu/
Saint Martin’s University   www.stmartin.edu/
Seattle Pacific University   www.spu.edu/
Seattle University   www.seattleu.edu/
University of Puget Sound   www.ups.edu/
Walla Walla University   www.wallawalla.edu/
Whitman College   www.whitman.edu/content/
Whitworth University   www.whitworth.edu/

There are six 4-year public colleges and universities in Washington
Central Washington University   www.cwu.edu/
Eastern Washington University   www.ewu.edu/Home.xml
Evergreen State College   www.evergreen.edu/
University of Washington   www.washington.edu/
Washington State University   www.wsu.edu/
Western Washington University   www.wwu.edu/

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.